Wilma Jean

by cochrancj

New more casual spot from the Seersucker (May it rest in peace) and Nightingale 9 guys.

What We Had

20140713-092502-33902731.jpg

I had a fried chicken breast with field pea & cherry tomato salad and buttermilk ranch with a lemonade.

20140713-092533-33933831.jpg

My DH had the fried chicken sandwich with mac & cheese and a Peak Organic IPA (mental note: I actually liked this beer and I hate IPAs).

Whoo hoo! This is the same fantastic fried chicken we fell in love with at Seersucker. Which is good, because we are semi-addicted and were totally worried that we’d never have fried chicken again.

The mac was good, the field pea salad was nice and light and fresh – and the ranch was great. I had forgotten how much I love ranch + fried chicken.

Decor

20140713-092600-33960835.jpg

Dark woods and white tables – small (this restaurant inhabits the space Nightingale 9 used to be in – Nightingale 9 has moved to the old Seersucker spot) but open and sunny.

Service

We went on their second day open, so it wasn’t as great as it will be.

Overall Impressions

This is a great little casual dinner place. Though I will still sorely miss the variety of items Seersucker served, Wilma Jean keeps the elevated Southern cuisine vibe alive with a re-focusing on fewer dishes (mostly involving fried chicken). The pimento cheese made the jump from the old place, as did the collards. I am sad to say the biscuits did not.

Rating

5 out of 5 for stellar chicken though give them a week or two to work the kinks out.

