Five Leaves

by cochrancj

New American gastropub/cafe in Greenpoint.

What We Had

My DH had the Red waddle pork chop with curry roast sweet potato, lime cream, cashews & lardon. His pork chop was underwhelming – he reported that he’s had better at home – which, while flattering, is not something you necessarily want to hear about a $20-something cut of meat. His sweet potatoes were great and I’m going to have to attempt re-creating them, along with the lime cream. He was sad that the lardon was more of a garnish than any real part of the dish. This dish was not bad or memorable.

I had the slow roasted Long Island duck with braised endive, black lentils & fennel-kumquat salad. I really liked mine. The duck was as fantastic as roasted duck always is – with mahogany lacquered skin and luxurious fatty richness. I also really enjoyed the orangey kick of the lentils. They gave a nice counterbalance to the richness of the duck. The big honking roast fennel was a tad awkward, but I love roast fennel so I made it work.

We also split a half dozen market oysters, which were fantastic.

I had a Southern Belle cocktail – black tea infused vodka, lemon, mint & sparkling wine – and it was magnificent.

The DH had a beer.

No dish pics – it was too dark.

Decor

20131103-081004.jpg
This is actually a bathroom shot, since the dining room was too full and dim.

Distressed wood and worn leather with iron and warm candle accents in the dining room, rustic ship accents in the bathroom. Eclectic music selection. The ambiance was really good – I was loving the candlelight reflected in water bottles and glasses all around the dining room.

Service

There.

Overall Impressions

Not bad. I’d been excited about having dinner here for awhile – we’re just so rarely in this part of town for dinner – and I’m glad we’ve crossed it off the list. If we lived in the neighborhood, I’m sure we’d go back – my duck was great, the oysters were great, and that cocktail was really something special. As it stands, though, there are many more places in town calling our names — including a really fun looking beer hall type place down the block.

Rating

3.5 out of 5 because mine was great and his was so-so.

